The Audio-book experience

Snoopy with Headphones

There is a lot of terrific digital content all around us. We have the ability to tap into this wellspring in numerous ways: ebooks, real books, podcasts, web pages etc. I recently discovered a great way to access information: Audio-books.

I have always thoroughly enjoyed reading. I have always viewed listening to a book as strange. Lo and behold, I have survived the audio-book experience! It has helped me learn and gain more knowledge. The greatest benefit of this whole journey, has been my discovery that I had the perfect time period(s) to listen to books: commuting and exercising.

I have been running for about 5.5 years and absolutely love it. Whether inside or outside, I would jog without music, letting my mind wander and relax. It is incredible how many ideas would hit me while running. It is also beneficial to connect to our surroundings. I still enjoy “connected” ( to myself, disconnected from technology) running and make sure to practice it. However, I have really found this period of time to be very conducive to listening to audio-books. I am able to just run and absorb.

Similarly,  I have begun listening to audio-books while commuting. I know many people who use such time to ingest information in a variety of ways. It is a fantastic opportunity to take advantage of.

I am really excited to continue utilizing these opportunities. I am excited about all the  information I have learned!. However, the most important benefit I have gained (and am hoping to replicate in other situations and activities), is utilizing my time most effectively. We are often stressed for time and  hope we could lengthen the day (all we need is 5 more hours right :)). Gaining the most we can with the time we do have, becomes that much more integral to success.

This entry was posted in Other, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to The Audio-book experience

  1. hayleymac says:

    Agreed!! I need to listen to these more when I drive home to Pittsburgh!

  2. Pingback: Turn your commute into a classroom | CRAIG'S THOUGHT SPOT

  3. Pingback: Podcasts and Audio Books?? | The Literary Syndicate

  4. Pingback: Taking back the commute – listening to audio books | Blank pages and books

  5. Pingback: Audio Books Are Bad Marketing | Startup noodle

  6. להיכנס לאתר הזה says:

    Hey I am so excited I found your web site, I really found
    you by accident, while I was searching on Bing for something else,
    Anyhow I am here now and would just like to say thanks for a marvelous
    post and a all round interesting blog (I also love the theme/design),
    I don’t have time to read through it all at the moment but I have saved
    it and also included your RSS feeds, so when I have time I will
    be back to read a great deal more, Please do keep up the great
    job.

Leave a Reply

